

Utah Inland Port Authority Board 2022

APPROVED MEETING MINUTES

Utah Inland Port Authority Board Meeting Minutes Thursday
June 23, 2022
SENATE BUILDING, ROOM 120

Board Members Present: Miles Hansen, Dan Hemmert, Abby Osborne, Mike Schultz (Virtual), Jerry Stevenson

Non Voting Board Members: Victoria Petro-Eschler

Board Members Absent: n/a

UIPA Staff: Jack Hedge, Jill Flygare, Taneesa Wright, Lynne Mayer

Others in Attendance (online): Teri Durfee, Lionel Trepainer, Deeda Seed, Monica Hilding, Tussy King, Joan Gregory

1. Welcome

Board Chair, Miles Hansen welcomed the board members, staff and public to this Utah Inland Port Authority Board Meeting.

2. Oath of Office

Notary, Diana Garnder administered the Oath of Office to newly appointed board member Abby Osborne.

3. Public Hearing for Budget

Deputy Executive Director and Chief Operating Officer, Jill Flygare provided an overview of the budget. Chair Hansen then opened the hearing for comments and questions from the public. A 15-minute public hearing was held where comments were made regarding the master plan, budget for staff/personnel, and a request for clarification of budget items.

4. Approval of Resolution 2022-04

Resolution of the Utah Inland Port Authority approving an amended budget for fiscal year 2022 was read into the record. Discussion was had amongst the board. Board member Stevenson made a motion for approval of Resolution 2022-04, board member Osborne seconded that motion. A roll call vote was taken and the resolution passed unanimously.

Roll Call Vote:

Miles Hansen – yes

 $Dan\ Hemmert-yes$

Abby Osborne – yes

Mike Schultz – yes

Jerry Stevenson - yes



5. Approval of

Resolution 2022-05

Reolution of the Utah Inland Port Authority approvin a budget for fiscal year 2023 was read into the record. Discussion was had amongst the board. Board member Stevenson made a motion to approve Resolution 2022-05, board member Schultz seconded that motion. A roll call vote was taken and the resolution passed unanimously.

Roll Call Vote: Miles Hansen – yes Dan Hemmert – yes Abby Osborne – yes Mike Schultz – yes Jerry Stevenson – yes

6. Approval of Minutes from June 16, 2022

Board member Stevenson moved to approve the minutes from the June 16, 2022 board meeting. Board member Schultz seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

7. Policy Approval

Deputy Executive Director and Chief Operating Officer, Jill Flygare provided an overview of the updates to the policies. Based on public input and questions around some policies, the board opted to table BP-01, BP-03, and BP-05 to review and revise and be approved at a later meeting. Board member Osborne made the motion to approve BP-02 and BP-04, board member Stevenson seconded that motion, and these two policies were passed unanimously.

8. Public Comment

Chair Hansen reviewed the Rules of Decorum and the public comment process and procedures. Comments in opposition included concerns regrading climate change, public comment time limits and policy concerns. Comments in support included appreciation for UIPA's public transparency and addressing board meeting concerns including gratitude for open communication with the public.

9. Adjourn

The public meeting was adjourned.

Board Chair, Miles Hansen