

Utah Inland Port Authority Board 2022

APPROVED MEETING MINUTES

Utah Inland Port Authority Board Meeting Minutes Wednesday September 7, 2022 SENATE BUILDING, ROOM 120

Board Members Present: Miles Hansen, Dan Hemmert, Abby Osborne, Jerry Stevenson, Mike Schultz (Virtual)

Non-Voting Board Members: Victoria Petro-Eschler

UIPA Staff: Jack Hedge, Ben Hart, Jill Flygare, Taneesa Wright, Lynne Mayer

Others in Attendance (virtual): Teri Durfee, Lionel Trepainer, David Bennett, Tussy King, Joan Gregory

1. Welcome

Board Chair Miles Hansen welcomed the board members, staff and public to this Utah Inland Port Authority Board Meeting.

2. Approval of Minutes from August 24, 2022

Board member Osborne moved to approve the minutes from the August 24, 2022 board meeting. Board member Schultz seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

3. Executive Director Report

The board welcome Ben Hart and turned the time over to provide his executive director report in which he gave an overview of the NWQ and what it can become, conversations with stakeholders and what he has heard from them in the last few weeks, as well as the next steps for the UIPA.

4. Approval of Resolution 2022-07

Resolution 2022-07 of the Utah Inland Port Authority appointing Dan Hemmert as Treasurer was presented. Discussion was had amongst the board. Board member Osborne made a motion for approval of Resolution 2022-07, board member Stevenson seconded that motion. A roll call vote was taken and the resolution passed unanimously.

Roll Call Vote:

Miles Hansen – ves

Dan Hemmert - yes

Abby Osborne – yes

Jerry Stevenson – yes

Mike Schultz – yes

5. Approval of Resolution 2022-08

The board skipped this resolution and Board Chair Hansen made the following statement, "Under the delegated power to the executive director, he or she has been given the authority by the Board to establish an Advisory Committee, and as such, we have asked Ben for his help in getting this new committee



established. Per the prior Resolution 2022-07, Dan Hemmert, as Treasurer of the Authority, will serve on a Finance and Audit Committee as the Chair. Ben will be appointing the remaining individuals to this committee soon. We'd like to thank Dan for serving as the treasurer of the Board, and we know we will be in good hands with his expertise and background in this additional role."

6. Approval of Resolution 2022-09

Resolution of the Utah Inland Port Authority approving the mutual agreement to terminate the employment agreement with Jack C. Hedge due to retirement. Discussion was had amongst the board. Board member Hemmert made a motion for approval of Resolution 2022-09, board member Stevenson seconded that motion. A roll call vote was taken and the resolution passed unanimously.

Roll Call Vote: Miles Hansen – yes Dan Hemmert – yes Abby Osborne – yes Jerry Stevenson – yes Mike Schultz – yes

7. Public Comment

Board chair Hansen opened up the public comment period and welcomed those both in person and online to join the queue. There were no in-person requests, only those online/virtually. Public comments made in opposition included concerns regarding potential droughts, public policy and community inclusion. Additional comments included suggestions regarding closed session education.

8. Closed Session & Adjourn

The board voted to move into a closed session meeting held at 10:15am at 350 State Street for the purpose of "Discussion of the character, professional competence, or physical or mental health of an individual, and conducting a strategy session to discuss the purchase, exchange, or lease of real property" as described in Section 52-4-205 of Utah Code and sections 52-4-204 and 52-4-205 of the Open and Public meetings act. Board member Stevenson made a motion to move into closed session, board member Osborne seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken and the resolution passed unanimously.

Roll Call Vote: Miles Hansen – yes Dan Hemmert – yes Abby Osborne – yes Jerry Stevenson – yes Miles Hansen –yes Mike Schultz – yes

The public meeting was then adjourned.

Board Chair, Miles Hansen